Some Northern Kentucky athletes are repeating their school year

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association recently released a full list of schools which approved Kentucky’s new Senate Bill 128, AKA the “do-over” year bill.

Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear signed Senate Bill 128 into law in March, allowing students in grades K-12 to request a "do-over" year for the 2021-22 school year. The bill addresses problems created by the novel coronavirus pandemic and the lack of in-person learning. 

Under the new law, school districts are required to either approve or reject the entire group of students who request the extra year and not rule on each student on a case-by-case basis.

Beechwood senior Cam Hergott was honored with the KFCA Mr Football award on Thursday, Jan. 21.

The KHSAA has published a list of which school districts will allow their students to repeat their current grade.

According to the KHSAA list, six Northern Kentucky school districts have allowed their students to add a supplemental year, representing 11 high schools in the area plus all of their feeder schools.

The districts are Beechwood, Boone County, Covington, Dayton, Erlanger-Elsmere and Kenton County. The rest of Northern Kentucky has declined that option, including all private high schools.

Beechwood lineman Xavier Campbell will repeat his sophomore year this coming school year.

Schools are required to submit to the KHSAA the names of all of their students who are taking the supplemental year, but the KHSAA is required to keep the names concealed from the public. Students are allowed to announce their decision on their own.

In the wake of those approvals, at least five Northern Kentucky high school student-athletes have announced they will repeat their current grade and reclassify.

Source link

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button