Gallatin County Schools superintendent on banning critical race theory

Gallatin County Schools board this week banned critical race theory in an effort to "not create greater divisions" among students and staff, superintendent Larry Hammond wrote in a Thursday statement to The Enquirer.

The five board members – Rebecca Burgett, Hargis Davis, Amanda Dunavent, Chuck Toler and Sonya Giles – have not responded to The Enquirer with additional comments about the decision.

The board voted unanimously Tuesday evening to ban critical race theory (CRT) throughout the district, which is comprised of 1,725 students located in a county that is 95% white, according to the U.S. Census Bureau. It is the first school board in the Cincinnati region and apparently the first board in Kentucky to do so.

More: Educators worry politics, fear of critical race theory may curb push to teach about race

Source link

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button