Helio Castroneves wins his record-tying fourth Indy 500

INDIANAPOLIS – The drought is no longer, and Spiderman lives on.

To cap a chaotic, pass-happy Indianapolis 500 Sunday afternoon, Helio Castroneves gave the 135,000 race fans a gift to make up for their absence at the "Greatest Spectacle in Racing" one year ago.

The longtime Team Penske driver, who won this race in 2000, 2001 and 2009, delivered his new team Meyer Shank Racing its first-ever victory by holding off Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou on the final lap to secure his fourth Indianapolis 500 victory.

The win puts Castroneves in one of IndyCar racing’s most illustrious clubs. He joins A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr. and Rick Mears as the only drivers to win the Indy 500 four times in the race's 105-year history.

Helio Castroneves celebrates after winning the 105th Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

At 46, Castroneves, who doesn't have a full-time IndyCar Series ride this season, is one of the oldest winners of the 500 in the race's history. Al Unser was just shy of 48 when he won in 1987. 

"I only ran two races and I won two races. I think I still got it, don't you think?" Castroneves said from Victory Circle. 

"The old guys still have it," a euphoric Castroneves said in victory circle.

Castroneves passed Spain's Alex Palou on the closing laps and barely held on at the yard of bricks as the IMS crowd roared with excitement.

CASTRONEVES:What to know about the four-time Indy 500 winner

Source link

Show More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button